Camp Hill Police Department
In 2000, 24 children under the age of 8 died in traffic crashes and another 3,549 were injured. The greatest risk to child passengers four to eight years of age is a lack of any restraint use in a motor vehicle. Parents not only need to ensure that their child is placed in an age-appropriate child safety seat but also that their child is properly restrained. This can reduce their risk of injury and death by as much as two-thirds. Pennsylvania law requires children under four to be restrained in an approved child passenger safety seat.
Summary of the Pennsylvania Safety Belt Law
1. Each driver and front seat passenger operating a passenger car, Class I and II truck or motor home, in the State of Pennsylvania, shall wear a properly fastened and adjusted seat belt.
2. The driver of the passenger car shall secure or cause to be secured with a booster seat any child over the age 4 and under the age of 8.
3. A driver who is under 18 years of age may not operate a motor vehicle in which the number of passengers exceeds the number of available safety seat belts in the vehicle.
4. Violators, if convicted of the primary offense for which the vehicle was stopped, are liable to pay a $10.00 fine; $30.00 CAT Fund; $10.00 EMS Fund and $1.50 Administrative Cost for the seat belt violation. Beginning Feb. 21,2003 children from four through seven years of age must be in a booster seat and children eight through 17 must be in a seat belt regardless of where they sit in a vehicle. All front seat passengers, regardless of age, currently are required to wear seat belts. The law regarding children under four is covered by primary enforcement while the rest of the seat belt law and the Feb. 21 changes are covered by secondary enforcement. With secondary enforcement, the seat belt citations can only be issued if the driver has been stopped and cited for a primary violation, such as speeding.
5. Exceptions to the law are made for (1) those with medical or psychological diagnoses that make them unable to wear a seat belt (Written verification must be produced); (2) occupants of cars manufactured before July 1, 1966; (3) specific occupational destinations.
four through seven years of age must be in a booster seat and children
through 17 must be in a seat belt regardless of where they sit in a
small children should ride in a rear seat seat in child safety seats approved for their age and size. And infants in rear facing child safety seats should NEVER ride in the front seat of a vehicle with a passenger side air bag.
Return to Camp Hill Car Seats page!
Return to Police home page!